Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Helmer

24 August 2023 @ 6: 45 PM - 7: 00 PM

HELMER presents Le Mari de la Couturière to the general public for the first time! Designer Helmer Joseph returns to his fashion roots, the tailor. The Le Mari de la Couturière collection is a festive, colorful tribute to his Haitian origins. The men’s collection is recognized for its savoir-faire, with a blend of sophisticated techniques, precise cuts and quality materials.

The show is under the artistic eye of Tinashe and Nancy Richards.

Throughout the M.A.D. Festival, Helmer also exhibits its universe under the name Le monde d’Helmer. A retrospective of models that have been exhibited at various locations. Among the models, those presented at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MBAM) as part of Nuit Couture during the Thierry Mugler exhibition in 2018. Still, the coat and large hat that was exhibited at Parliament in Ottawa for Black History Month in 2023 and in London in 2020 and two models presented at the fashion show. A must-see!

Translated into English as “A Maiden’s Prayer”, “La prière de la vierge” is a composition by Polish composer Tekla Badarzewska-Baranowska, published in Warsaw in 1856 and as a supplement in the Revue et gazette musicale de Paris in 1859. It is a short piece for piano.

About Helmer Joseph

Born in Gonaïves, Haiti, Helmer Joseph has traveled the world of fashion. In his early years, Helmer trained as a men’s tailor. Helmer went on to train at several schools, including ESMOD in Paris, L’école Lesage where he learned embroidery, the École de la chambre syndicale de la couture parisienne (now the Institut français de la mode) and Collège LaSalle in Montreal. For 20 years, Helmer worked for some of the biggest names in fashion, including Thierry Mugler and Christian Dior in Paris. Throughout his career, Helmer Joseph has also collaborated with many art and museum institutions, such as the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts during the Thierry Mugler exhibition in 2018. In 2021, at the request of the illustrious design training university, Helmer Joseph joined the Université du Québec à Montréal, UQAM, where he began his training and professional development program for future fashion designers from Quebec and Canada. Helmer Joseph is also the founding director of a fashion and crafts school in Jacmel, Haiti.

Details

Date:
24 August 2023
Time:
6: 45 PM - 7: 00 PM

Skip to main content

PROGRAMMATION

Chargement Évènements

« Tous les Évènements

  • Cet évènement est passé

Helmer

24 août 2023 @ 18h 45 - 19h 00

HELMER présente pour Le Mari de la Couturière au grand public pour la première fois ! Le designer Helmer Joseph revient aux sources avec ses débuts en mode, le tailleur. Tailleurs assumés et réfléchis, festifs et colorés, la collection Le Mari de la Couturière est un hommage à ses origines haïtiennes. Une collection pour homme que l’ on reconnaît pour son savoir-faire par le mélange de techniques recherchées, de coupes précises et la qualité de la matière.

Le défilé est sous l’œil artistique de Tinashe et Nancy Richards.

Durant tout le Festival M.A.D., Helmer expose aussi son univers sous le nom Le monde d’Helmer. Une rétrospection des modèles qui ont été exposés à différents endroits. Parmi les modèles, ceux qui ont été présentés au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal (MBAM) dans le cadre Nuit Couture lors de l’exposition de Thierry Mugler en 2018. Encore, le manteau et le grand chapeau qui a été exposé au Parlement à Ottawa pour le mois de l’histoire des noirs en 2023 et à Londres en 2020 et deux modèles présentés au défilé. À découvrir !

À propos de la musique « La prière de la vierge » de Tekla Badarzewska-Baranowska.

Traduit à l’anglais “A Maiden’s Prayer”, « la prière de la vierge » est une composition de la compositrice polonaise Tekla Badarzewska-Baranowska qui fût publiée en 1856 à Varsovie et puis en supplémentaire à la Revue et gazette musicale de Paris en 1859. Il s’agit d’une courte pièce pour piano.

À propos d’Helmer Joseph 

Né aux Gonaïves en Haïti, Helmer Joseph a parcouru le monde de la mode. À ses débuts, Helmer a commencé par une formation comme tailleur pour hommes. Par la suite, Helmer poursuit ses formations dans plusieurs écoles, dont ESMOD à Paris, L’école Lesage où il apprend la broderie, l’École de la chambre syndicale de la couture parisienne (devenu aujourd’hui l’Institut français de la mode) et le Collège LaSalle à Montréal. Pendant 20 ans, Helmer a travaillé pour les plus grands noms de la mode, dont Thierry Mugler et Christian Dior à Paris. Helmer Joseph, tout au long de sa carrière a aussi collaboré avec maintes institutions artistiques et muséales, telles que le Musée des Beaux-Arts à Montréal durant l’exposition Thierry Mugler en 2018. En 2021, à la demande de l’illustre université de création de formation en design, Helmer Joseph se joint à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, l’UQAM où il débute son programme de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel de futurs créateurs de mode du Québec et du Canada. Aussi, Helmer Joseph est directeur fondateur d’une école de mode et de métiers d’art à Jacmel en Haïti.

Détails

Date :
24 août 2023
Heure :
18h 45 - 19h 00